Good bye, mascara. Hello, lashes!

2014-03-31 11.46.28

Let me preface this by saying: I’m a blinker, a flincher, a wincer, an eye-rubber, tear-er upper.  I only learned how to successfully apply eyeliner without stabbing myself in the pupils well into my thirties. For me, next day eye makeup was the worst. No matter how hard I tried to scrub it off before bedtime, I always woke up like Rocky Raccoon with eye makeup leftovers.

I had contemplated getting permanent eyelashes, but the idea of someone messing with my eyes for a couple of hours made me squeamish.  Enter, Deanna of Racine Spa and Salon in Islip, New York.  She let me stand in on a lash fill-in, and her customer (who was comfortably laying on a massage table in a private room) gushed about how much she loved her lashes.  “Sign me up,” I found myself saying.

It’s been well over two months now, and I can honestly say I’m hooked.  Waking up in the morning with no traces of make-up around my eyes, and never having to apply a lick of eye makeup is truly life changing.

There is nothing uncomfortable about lash application.  It takes a couple of hours and I fall asleep often. The maintenance appointments are every two to three weeks, depending on how full you want your lashes and how often your lashes shed (a natural occurrence and not caused by the falsies).

I get compliments on my lashes all of the time, and I have thrown out every tube of mascara I own.

If you’d like to try out permanent lashes, go to a reputable salon, like Racine in Islip, New York, and ask for Deanna, their eyelash expert.

5 thoughts on “Good bye, mascara. Hello, lashes!

Leave a Reply

